Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

Sowing Acceptance: My Sister-in-Law. Now Let’s Accept her and her Dream!

Leave a comment

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Six years ago my sister-in-law, Erin, catapulted me into more acceptance than I had felt before. It happened this way: My visit with my brother, Aaron, and Erin was fun; they made me homemade juice for breakfast, we were having interesting conversations, and then we started talking about families and acceptance.

In the kitchen of their home, my sister-in-law said something that will always stay with me: Erin said, “If you come in here wearing fishnets and all leather and smoking a joint, I will love you just as much as now.” (I haven’t taken her up on this challenge–just hearing this helped me know I don’t need to do those attention-getting things). I hadn’t heard something like that from a family-member before, and the acceptance healed me.

Erin knows who she is so she can love people just as they are. She’s faced her share of pain and heartache head on, learned from it, worked through it, and challenges hundreds with her stories. She’s a story-teller, and she has a story to tell. Right now she’s fund-raising to publish a children’s book about an angel called Hark. Please consider helping her fulfill this dream she has! She has accepted so many of us, now let’s accept her dream and help her fulfill it.

Look up her website to find out more and give:

To see the website, go to http://www.kickstarter.com and type in Hark under projects and it will be there!

Pass on acceptance–you won’t regret it!

Author: maryhopecampbell

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with students. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

