Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

2013 was a Very “Life-y” Year

Leave a comment

M.G.close-up

You may ask, “What’s life-y?” Well, it means pertaining to how life works: it’s messy, joyful, amazing, dreadful, painful, glorious, boring, humdrum, dirty, wonderful, and many more adjectives…

In the realm of romantic relationships, 2013 started with a guy (the Egyptian dentist to be specific) asking me out, and then a few days later calling it off. I let him know that was hard, and to try not to do that again if he wants to be with someone; he responded by calling me a “gem.” Then I moved on and dated someone for six months, learned a lot more about loving and trusting. In the summer he broke up with me, I took time to recover before getting to know more guys who had similar interests and Master’s degrees and who liked to read and teach…then 2013 ended with a bam: of a guy I was interested in letting me know he wasn’t interested anymore.

In all, I had a crash course in dating. Dating includes a lot of rejection, so I could look at 2013 as the year that started and ended with rejections, or I could look at it as a year where I really opened up my heart and took a lot more risks in regards to relationships. I choose to view 2013 as the learning to be risky year.

Other life-y things that happened include getting a job at a school I LOVE, and having wonderful leaders and co-workers. I got to work with the leaders of my church a lot more, and I transitioned through a change-over in leadership at the youth group at church and at my school. I finally finished my Masters of Arts in Teaching degree and got to graduate and wear the cool white and gold Masters’ hood.

My sister got engaged in Paris! My brother and his wife adopted an amazing baby boy in July, so I became an aunt! My older sister’s husband passed away suddenly the next month…I got closer to all three of these siblings…my younger brother’s band did even bigger tours this year and sound even better. A high school friend died suddenly. My parents were separated for six months and then got back together just in time for the holidays. I started writing more!

So do you see what I mean by 2013 being “life-y”? 2013 had all the facets of life bursting out of it’s seams: birth, death, love, grief, graduation, engagement, and fulfillment of dreams. 2014 is going to be so much better.

 

Author: mary.campbell.schuh

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer, wife, mother, and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with people. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

