Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

Why Pink and Red Go Together

Leave a comment

photo 4

 

When I was ten, one day after I had dressed up to go to church, a family friend (who was visiting) told me clearly, “You do not wear pink tights with red shoes!” and she wanted me to change. I think I did, but I’ve always liked red and pink together ever since then.

Today I bought a dress that is red and it has bright pink piping along the seams…and it’s from a high end store…it’s a classy dress…I knew I liked those colors together…

Why do red and pink belong together?
Well, they are transitional colors. If pink gets stronger, loses its white, it clarifies into red. Or if red relaxes and lets some white in, it changes to pink.

photo 1

Letting out your personal style and voice is essential to becoming a mature adult. Today as I watched Top Chef, the focus was on the chefs remembering when they came into their own cooking style. This “coming into your voice” happens at different times for different people, but it is an important transition that people need to go through or else they will just be copying everyone else as they go through life. Copying others is easier than creating your own path…but don’t you want to live your life and not someone else’s’ life?

Developing a personal style takes strength. When I was ten I didn’t have that strength to stand up to that friend and say, “I like pink and red together! I’m going to wear this to church.” But now I do.

photo 2

Pink and red go together because they are both bright, cheerful, Valentine-y colors, and I can be bold enough to wear them together just because I like them together. There! And I found the perfect dress to illustrate that pink and red CAN work together… it’s just a little bright…

photo 5

Author: maryhopecampbell

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with students. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

