Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

Learning to Parallel-park (City Style) and Settling into the City

Leave a comment

Moving to the big city has been more of an adjustment than I thought from working in the city for 1 1/2 years…but living is different than just working in the city! I’m learning how big my car is, and if it can fit in a parking spot. I tried one spot near my house, but it was a Mini Cooper sized spot, not a Prius spot. I have scratches on my car to prove it. Bummer… and I’m learning that it’s okay to give a neighboring car an accidental “friendly bump.”

Yesterday I went to get my driver’s license updated, but I didn’t have a bill with me, so I had to go back today. Thankfully, several bills arrived in the mail yesterday (and I got to meet my mail man!), so today I could change it. When I was in line to get my registration changed, I looked up and there was a parent of one of my students from last year! She had me come into her office, and then helped me get it changed (and gave me a hug at the end), and told me about lots of the stores near I live because she used to live right where I live. I am feeling welcome in the big city… It just takes some time and loving people…

.photo 4

Author: mary.campbell.schuh

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer, wife, mother, and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with people. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

