Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

The Travels of a Cherry Pie

Leave a comment

This cherry pie has traveled more than most.

It began with sour cherries getting mixed with sugar and flour then poured into a pie crust, baked at 425 degrees for 40 minutes, and wah-lah–a pie with a heart-shaped pattern on top.

The first destination was my sister’s bridal shower, where I forgot it in the rush of arranging flowers and chopping watermelon for the fruit salad.

The pie traveled home, and then a few days later I took it to the home of an artist friend of mine. She had the great idea of putting the pie in the oven for 30 minutes while we took a walk around the neighborhood in the golden dusk.

She had vanilla ice cream with the bits of vanilla bean in it and it dressed up the pie. I ate two pieces! My friend enjoyed it too. We drank a wonderful nutty tea.

In the pieces I ate, I came across 1 1/2 cherry pits, and I don’t think my friends got any. I’m glad. So this pie wasn’t perfect.

A day later I went over to another friend’s house, and brought the now half of a pie…

We watched the fun show “Call the Midwife” and ate our pie with milk.
We laughed and cried and hugged good-bye.

This pie still has some life in it because there’s a third left.

…Three weeks later…

The last third moved with me to the big city, and I ate it in my kitchen, sitting on the floor, with a cooler as a table. It made my new apartment more homey.

Through this pie’s travels I learned that cherry pie is comforting and makes people smile.

20140712-105706-39426321.jpg

Author: maryhopecampbell

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with students. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

