Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

Smoking: I Hate What It Does to People

Leave a comment

You’ve seen it: A cigarette dangling from a lady’s slender fingers, as the smoke spirals up above her head; these images have a seductive pull to them, but they are deadly. I love a lot of people who smoke, but I hate what that nicotine-filled smoke does to them. Smoking killed my brother-in-law.

My brother-in-law, Don, created intricate, graceful pieces of furniture for people who desired custom-built furniture. His creativity came out through creating his fine furniture, drawing, and what he talked about. 

Don loved to give gifts, so my first iPod was from him (and from my sister). They bought me my first classy business suit for job interviews. Don would be all gruff, but underneath you knew he cared.I hate how smoking is so hard to quit. My brother-in-law almost died before he chose to stop. That experience and God’s help gave Don the grit and will-power to stop smoking without substituting other things for cigarettes, so for the last four years of his life, he didn’t smoke. But the decades of smoking had taken its toll. He passed away from lung cancer in the summer of 2013 at the age of 55 and left my sister behind.If you care about yourself and your family, decide to get help and quit smoking.

Help can be found through considering these options:

You need support from people to help you quit smoking! The addiction comes from some deeper hurt or stress and the cigarettes are something that brings you calm.
There’s a 12-step group called Narcotics Anonymous that can help you work through the deeper issues that drive you to smoke. Find out more at www.na.org.

Pray. Ask God to help you quit. He’s a gentleman, so he waits to be asked, but if you ask, he will help you.

Choose to stop and go for it. Don stopped, and you can too.

20140724-173228-63148516.jpgBy M. H. Campbell Copyright 2014
Author: maryhopecampbell

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with students. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

