Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

Learning Self-Concept

Leave a comment

20150409-115314-42794500.jpg
The helpful book Teaching With Love and Logic by Jim Fay and David Funk has helped me understand myself and the students I work with greatly. Here are a few quotes:

“We respond to covert messages much more than we ever do to the overt” (Fay and Funk 126).

“The basic rule is: Unconditionally accept the worthy person, even while rejecting the questionable behavior” (Fay and Funk 129).

“Learning from consequences is a struggle that can cause pain, but surviving the struggle is a great self-concept builder. We learn that we are capable” (Fay and Funk 131).

How these authors mix stories with action steps on how to relate to students and manage people better makes me feel I can do this. Whether you are a teacher or parent or work with children somewhere, it is a helpful book.

It took me over a year to read this book through because it was helpful to read a bit, put it into practice, think about it for a time, and then get back to it. Now that I’ve finished it, I get to loan it to friends who have seen me reading it, but I’m so thankful for the self-awareness it taught me.

Check it out!

By M. H. Campbell

Copyright 2015

Author: mary.campbell.schuh

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer, wife, mother, and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with people. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

