Trees of Transition

Planting seeds of hope throughout our world through sharing photography and thoughts on teaching, cooking, and life transitions.

My Wonderful “Pushy” Husband and How He Helped My Job Hunt

Leave a comment

img_0226My siblings know that I won’t do something if I don’t want to (and I drove them nuts), but now I have a husband who is “pushy” in a kind and helpful way. Last summer when I had a job that I had tried every ladder to move up, but there was no upward mobility, and my husband told me, “Quit! I know you can find a full-time teaching job.” Stephen is not annoy-pushy, but he is firm and kind-pushy. If he thinks I should do something, he encourages me until I think I can do it. I didn’t have as much confidence as my husband, but I believed him, so I resigned my job at the end of the summer semester, and then started the full-time job of job hunting.

Job-hunting takes so much emotional energy it IS a full-time job, and I started filling out teacher applications for the final round of hiring in schools for the start of school. I tried some school districts and also the Catholic Diocese in my area. I applied to the Diocese in my area because I didn’t want to have to drive 25 miles to work anymore; however, the next day I also applied to the Diocese a little farther away…and I saw results I had NEVER seen before.

At the start of August, there’s a final round of hiring; I had never felt stable enough to wait for that round of hiring, and I would just settle and take a lesser job. Not last summer! My husband pushed me in a kind and firm way to just try, and this time there were different results than before…

After I submitted the second Diocese application (after seeing they had at least sixteen openings), twenty minutes later I got a call for an interview! A half an hour later, as I was driving to the viewing of a Russian musical, I received another call for a different interview. I had never had results like that to an application. NEVER. A couple hours later I received an interview request via email and then the next day another call for an interview. A few days later I did all the interviews, receiving helpful feedback, such as “You are a quality candidate!” Then then waiting game started…

A few days later, I heard back from the school I had connected the most with, and they offered me a job teaching Language Arts and Literature to middle school students. The job was still 25 miles from home, but my husband works in a town half-way to work, so we get to commute together and it feels closer!

For the last four months, I’ve been teaching 115 5th-8th graders how to write, so that is why I have not been blogging much, but now I feel like I’m getting the hang of teaching middle schoolers again. Stephen knew I could teach again, and he helped me believe it. He helps me believe it every day as I grow stronger and more peaceful in my field. Stephen has the right kind of helpful-pushy, and I love him SO much.

~Mary Hope

Copyright 2016

Author: maryhopecampbell

Hello Friends, A curious, kind, practical, and energetic writer and teacher is one way to describe me. I enjoy thinking about transitions--in schools, churches, families, relationships, and even countries. I'm passionate about learning, and I love working with students. Stop by often to see which kind of transition I'm thinking about, and I would appreciate hearing your thoughts. Peace! ~Mary Hope

Leave a Reply

